Threshold rules for this state are being re-verified
At least one detail on this page could only be confirmed from a secondary source, or an official source was silent (for example, whether marketplace sales count toward your own threshold is not stated in the official sources we reviewed). Check the official source before you rely on it.
Ohio Sales Tax Nexus: Economic Nexus Threshold (2026)
Ohio's economic nexus threshold for remote sellers is $100,000 in sales or 200 transactions (meeting either test is enough), measured over the current or preceding calendar year. The official guidance we reviewed does not say whether marketplace sales count toward Ohio's threshold. Inventory or another physical presence in Ohio generally creates nexus regardless of sales.
Ohio sales tax nexus: key facts
| Sales threshold | $100,000 |
|---|---|
| Transaction threshold | 200 transactions |
| Test | Sales OR transactions |
| What counts | Gross receipts over $100,000 from sales into Ohio, or 200 or more separate transactions. Per the SST chart note, only retail sales count (sales for resale and non-enumerated services excluded). |
| Measurement period | Current or preceding calendar year |
| Marketplace sales count toward your threshold? | Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed) |
| Marketplace facilitator law | Yes: marketplaces generally collect on the sales they facilitate |
| State rate | 5.75% |
| Local sales taxes | Yes, in addition to the state rate |
| Current threshold effective | August 1, 2019 |
| Recent change | None found in our research |
| Registration | Official registration page |
| Last researched | September 23, 2026 |
The state rate is the statewide state-level rate only. Local and district rates are extra where they apply.
Quick check: do you have nexus in Ohio?
Enter your Ohio sales to see whether you may have nexus.
Selling into several states? Use the full Sales Tax Nexus Checker. Your figures stay in your browser.
What to do after crossing the Ohio threshold
We did not find a specific start-date rule for Ohio in the sources reviewed. Check the official guidance before you begin collecting.
- Confirm the numbers. Check your Ohio sales against the measure and period in the key facts above.
- Register before you collect. Use Ohio's official registration page. Collecting a state's tax without a registration is generally not allowed.
- Collect and file. Charge Ohio sales tax (plus any local taxes that apply at the delivery address) on taxable sales from the start date, and file returns on the schedule the state assigns. Marketplaces generally collect on the sales they facilitate, so you usually collect on your direct sales.
- Look back. If you crossed the threshold in an earlier period and did not register, get advice on those periods. Many states have voluntary disclosure programs that may limit penalties.
Physical presence and inventory in Ohio
Physical presence in Ohio (property, inventory including FBA/3PL, employees) creates nexus regardless of the economic thresholds.
Marketplace sellers in Ohio
Do marketplace sales count toward your own threshold? Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed).
The Ohio Department of Taxation out-of-state sellers page says a seller that only sells through an online marketplace that collects and pays the tax does not need a seller's use tax license, but it does not say whether facilitated sales count toward a remote seller's own $100,000/200 test. Marketplace facilitators count their own plus facilitated sales ('aggregate gross receipts into Ohio exceeding $100,000, including sales made on behalf of one or more marketplace sellers; or ... 200 or more separate transactions').
Other things to know about Ohio
- Streamlined Sales Tax (SSUTA) member state.
- Uses an OR test: $100,000 gross receipts or 200 transactions. Ohio is one of the states that still keeps a transaction count (per the SST chart as of 1/11/2023; not re-verified for 2025-2026).
- Per the SST Governing Board note, only retail sales count toward the nexus test. Sales for resale and non-enumerated services are excluded.
Frequently asked questions
What is the Ohio economic nexus threshold?
$100,000 in sales or 200 transactions (meeting either test is enough), measured over the current or preceding calendar year. What counts: Gross receipts over $100,000 from sales into Ohio, or 200 or more separate transactions. Per the SST chart note, only retail sales count (sales for resale and non-enumerated services excluded).
Do marketplace sales count toward the Ohio threshold?
Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed). The Ohio Department of Taxation out-of-state sellers page says a seller that only sells through an online marketplace that collects and pays the tax does not need a seller's use tax license, but it does not say whether facilitated sales count toward a remote seller's own $100,000/200 test. Marketplace facilitators count their own plus facilitated sales ('aggregate gross receipts into Ohio exceeding $100,000, including sales made on behalf of one or more marketplace sellers; or ... 200 or more separate transactions').
Does FBA or 3PL inventory in Ohio create nexus?
Physical presence in Ohio (property, inventory including FBA/3PL, employees) creates nexus regardless of the economic thresholds.
Does Ohio have a transaction-count test?
Yes: 200 transactions. Meeting either the dollar or the transaction test is enough.
Crossed the Ohio threshold, or not sure? A professional can confirm it and handle registration.
Nexus Study + Registration + Cleanup
Fixed price, quoted before any work starts
- State-by-state review of your sales and inventory locations
- Registration in states where you have nexus
- Plan for any past-due periods (including voluntary disclosure where appropriate)
- Ongoing sales tax filing option
Disclaimer: This page provides general information for educational purposes and is not tax, legal or accounting advice. State rules change, and whether you have nexus can depend on facts not covered here. Confirm with Ohio's official guidance or a qualified professional before acting. RAHA Financials is not affiliated with any state tax agency.
Sources
- Primary official source: https://tax.ohio.gov/business/ohio-business-taxes/sales-and-use/out-of-state-sellers
- tax.ohio.gov: https://tax.ohio.gov/business/ohio-business-taxes/sales-and-use/marketplace-facilitators
- streamlinedsalestax.org: https://www.streamlinedsalestax.org/for-businesses/remote-seller-faqs/remote-seller-state-guidance