Beta: these free tools are in testing. Tax figures were checked against IRS and state sources. Spot something off? Tell us.

Threshold rules for this state are being re-verified

At least one detail on this page could only be confirmed from a secondary source, or an official source was silent (for example, whether marketplace sales count toward your own threshold is not stated in the official sources we reviewed). Check the official source before you rely on it.

Sales tax nexus by state · ND

North Dakota Sales Tax Nexus: Economic Nexus Threshold (2026)

North Dakota's economic nexus threshold for remote sellers is $100,000 in sales, measured over the previous or current calendar year. The official guidance we reviewed does not say whether marketplace sales count toward North Dakota's threshold. Only taxable sales count. Inventory or another physical presence in North Dakota generally creates nexus regardless of sales.

Last researched September 23, 2026 · Needs re-verification

North Dakota sales tax nexus: key facts

North Dakota sales tax nexus key facts
Sales threshold$100,000 (taxable sales only)
Transaction thresholdNone
TestSales only
What countsTaxable sales delivered into ND (tax.nd.gov and SST describe the test as taxable sales)
Measurement periodPrevious or current calendar year
Marketplace sales count toward your threshold?Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed)
Marketplace facilitator lawYes: marketplaces generally collect on the sales they facilitate
State rate5%
Local sales taxesYes, in addition to the state rate
Current threshold effectiveJuly 1, 2019
Recent changeNone found in our research
RegistrationOfficial registration page
Last researchedSeptember 23, 2026

The state rate is the statewide state-level rate only. Local and district rates are extra where they apply.

Quick check: do you have nexus in North Dakota?

Use your North Dakota sales for the previous or current calendar year (see the key facts above). North Dakota counts only taxable sales, so enter only your taxable sales.

Your own website, wholesale and other non-marketplace sales
Amazon, eBay, Etsy, Walmart and similar

Enter your North Dakota sales to see whether you may have nexus.

Selling into several states? Use the full Sales Tax Nexus Checker. Your figures stay in your browser.

What to do after crossing the North Dakota threshold

When it starts:

  • Timing (from tax.nd.gov search snippets and SST; page not fetchable): when a remote seller first exceeds $100,000 it has 60 days to register and start collecting ND state and local tax.
  1. Confirm the numbers. Check your North Dakota sales against the measure and period in the key facts above (taxable sales only).
  2. Register before you collect. Use North Dakota's official registration page. Collecting a state's tax without a registration is generally not allowed.
  3. Collect and file. Charge North Dakota sales tax (plus any local taxes that apply at the delivery address) on taxable sales from the start date, and file returns on the schedule the state assigns. Marketplaces generally collect on the sales they facilitate, so you usually collect on your direct sales.
  4. Look back. If you crossed the threshold in an earlier period and did not register, get advice on those periods. Many states have voluntary disclosure programs that may limit penalties.

Physical presence and inventory in North Dakota

Sellers with physical presence in ND, including inventory stored at an ND warehouse or FBA/3PL location, must hold a permit and collect regardless of the $100,000 small-seller exception.

Marketplace sellers in North Dakota

Do marketplace sales count toward your own threshold? Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed).

Could not be confirmed officially. Every ND government site (tax.nd.gov, nd.gov, ndlegis.gov) refused connections or failed during research. tax.nd.gov search snippets say a marketplace facilitator counts all taxable sales made through its marketplace (including its own) toward its $100,000 threshold. They also say a permitted marketplace seller should not report sales made through a facilitator that has certified it collects the tax. No accessible official text says whether a remote seller's facilitated sales count toward its own threshold. The aggregator hint suggests they are excluded.

Other things to know about North Dakota

  • Streamlined Sales Tax (SSUTA) member state.
  • The 200-transaction test was removed effective July 1, 2019 (per the SST Governing Board state chart). The original remote seller compliance date was October 1, 2018.
  • Remote sellers above the threshold must collect local option sales taxes as well as the 5% state tax.

Frequently asked questions

What is the North Dakota economic nexus threshold?

$100,000 in sales, measured over the previous or current calendar year. What counts: Taxable sales delivered into ND (tax.nd.gov and SST describe the test as taxable sales). Only taxable sales count toward it.

Do marketplace sales count toward the North Dakota threshold?

Unclear (not stated in official sources reviewed). Could not be confirmed officially. Every ND government site (tax.nd.gov, nd.gov, ndlegis.gov) refused connections or failed during research. tax.nd.gov search snippets say a marketplace facilitator counts all taxable sales made through its marketplace (including its own) toward its $100,000 threshold. They also say a permitted marketplace seller should not report sales made through a facilitator that has certified it collects the tax. No accessible official text says whether a remote seller's facilitated sales count toward its own threshold. The aggregator hint suggests they are excluded.

Does FBA or 3PL inventory in North Dakota create nexus?

Sellers with physical presence in ND, including inventory stored at an ND warehouse or FBA/3PL location, must hold a permit and collect regardless of the $100,000 small-seller exception.

When do I have to start collecting North Dakota sales tax?

Timing (from tax.nd.gov search snippets and SST; page not fetchable): when a remote seller first exceeds $100,000 it has 60 days to register and start collecting ND state and local tax.

Registration: official registration page.

Does North Dakota have a transaction-count test?

No. North Dakota uses only the dollar threshold.

Crossed the North Dakota threshold, or not sure? A professional can confirm it and handle registration.

Nexus Study + Registration + Cleanup

Fixed price, quoted before any work starts

  • State-by-state review of your sales and inventory locations
  • Registration in states where you have nexus
  • Plan for any past-due periods (including voluntary disclosure where appropriate)
  • Ongoing sales tax filing option

Disclaimer: This page provides general information for educational purposes and is not tax, legal or accounting advice. State rules change, and whether you have nexus can depend on facts not covered here. Confirm with North Dakota's official guidance or a qualified professional before acting. RAHA Financials is not affiliated with any state tax agency.

Sources

Nearby and similar states

States near North Dakota

Other states with the same test ($100,000 in sales)

More